Missouri Valley Preseason All-Conference Team

 Missouri State TE Matt Thayer

Staff Report

College Sports Journal


ST. LOUIS, MO. (Courtesy of the Missouri Sports Magazine) – Missouri State senior tight end Matt Thayer (Bellevue, Neb.) and sophomore linebacker Andrew Beisel (Fenton, Mo.) were part of the Missouri Valley Football Conference’s preseason all-conference teams announced Thursday (Aug. 2) by the 10-member conference.

Two of the Bears’ top returners, Thayer and Beisel are both honorable mention selections to the 2012 Preseason All-MVFC team as voted on by the conference’s head coaches, media and sports information directors.

An inside linebacker, Beisel led the Bears with 84 tackles and six stops for loss a year ago as a redshirt freshman. He was named to the MVFC All-Newcomer squad in 2011 and is one of nine starters back on the MSU defense. He just missed the MVFC preseason first team this fall which includes three seniors and a junior. Beisel is one of three linebackers among the Valley’s preseason honorable mention picks.

Read more: http://missourisportsmag.com/?p=71116

2012 Missouri Valley Football Preseason Team

    Name, School             Ht.    Wt.    Yr.    Hometown / High School
QB-    Kurt Hess, YSU            6-3    230    Jr.    Dayton (Ohio) Chaminade-Julienne
RB-    Shakir Bell, INS    5-8    185    Jr.    Indianapolis (Ind.) Warren Central
    Jamaine Cook, YSU    5-9    215    Sr.    Cleveland (Ohio) Midpark High
FB-    Jordan Neukirch, ILS    6-2    225    Jr.    Algonquin (Ill.) Huntley High
WR-    Aaron Rollin, SDSU    6-1    210    Sr.    Lee's Summit (Mo.) West High
    Tyrone Walker, ILS    5-11    190    Sr.    Indianapolis (Ind.) Cardinal Ritter
TE-    MyCole Pruitt, SIU    6-3    241    So.    St. Louis (Mo.) Kirkwood High
OL-    Chris Elkins, YSU    6-4    290    Jr.    Beaver Falls (Pa.) High
    Jimmy Holtschlag, WIU    6-5    300    Sr.    Quincy (Ill.) Notre Dame
    FN Lutz, INS              6-3    290    Sr.    W. Lafayette (Ind.) Lafayette Harrison
    Mark Pratt, YSU            6-3    295    Sr.    Tooele (Utah) High
    Bryan Witzmann, SDSU    6-7    300    Jr    Houlton (Wis.) Somerset High
PK-    Tyler Sievertsen, UNI    6-2    185    Jr.    Cedar Rapids (Iowa) Kennedy High

DL-    Kenneth Boatright, SIU    6-4    244    Sr.    Bolingbrook (Ill.) Midland Lutheran
    Ben Obaseki, INS    6-3    260    Sr.    Washington (Ind.) High
    Nate Palmer, ILS    6-2    235    Sr.    Chicago (Ill.) Simeon High
    Kayon Swanson, SIU    6-1    282    Sr.    Southfield (Mich.) High
LB-    Aaron Archie, INS    6-0    235    Sr.    Detroit (Mich.) Cass Tech
    Evan Frierson, ILS    6-2    240    Sr.    Washington (D.C.) H.D. Woodson
    Tyler Starr, USD    6-5    236    Jr.    Little Rock (Iowa) George-Little Rock
    Jacolby Washington, INS    6-1    235    Sr.    Deltona (Fla.) Deltona Trinity Christian
DB-    Colten Heagle, NDSU    5-10    200    Jr.    Appleton (Wis.) Kimberly High
    Varmah Sonie, UNI    5-9    166    Sr.    Burnsville (Minn.) Apple Valley
    Marcus Williams, NDSU    5-11    195    Jr.    Minneapolis (Minn.) Hopkins High
    Winston Wright, SDSU    5-10    185    Jr.    Lee's Summit (Mo.) Blue Springs South
P-    Lucas Hileman, INS    6-1    195    Sr.    Anna (Ill.) Anna-Jonesboro High
RS-    Steve Strother, SIU    5-8    170    Sr.    Culpepper (Va.) Eastern View


Honorable Mention (minimum of five votes):

 QB Matt Brown (Illinois State); WR Will Powell (South Dakota); TE Matt Thayer (Missouri State); OL Misha Danilov (UNI); OL Billy Turner (North Dakota State); OL Tim Ross (South Dakota); PK Kevin Robb (South Dakota); DE Cole Jirik (North Dakota State); DL Andy Mink (South Dakota State); DL Dwight Harris (Western Illinois); LB Teven Williams (Youngstown State); LB Andrew Beisel (Missouri State); LB Travis Beck (North Dakota State); DB Kieron James (Western Illinois); DB Garrett Scott (UNI); P Cole Zwiefelhofer (South Dakota); RS Ryan Smith (North Dakota State).