North Carolina A&T Romps To HBCU National Crown In Coaches Poll

NCAT 2015 HBCU Champs

PHILADELPHIA, PA. — The year was 1999.

That was last time North Carolina A&T won a national championship.

Sixteen years later, they are national champions again.

The Aggies 41-34 victory over Alcorn State in the first-ever Celebration Bowl at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta on Saturday, solidified their place in history as the 2015 HBCU national champions in the final BOXTOROW Coaches

Poll of 2015.

“It’s great to be national champions and I’m proud of our players, staff and administration,” said A&T fifth-year head coach Rod Broadway. “We’re glad to win it. We had a good team and the players got everything they deserved.”

A&T received all but one first-place vote.

Alcorn State, the back-to-back SWAC champions and the 2014 BOXTOROW national champions finished second.

The Aggies, MEAC co-champions for the second year in a row, sat atop the poll for six weeks. Their only two losses of the season were to FBS opponent North Carolina and to fellow MEAC co-champion North Carolina

Central, which finished No. 5.

The third MEAC co-champion was Bethune-Cookman who finished No. 3.

Grambling State was the other top five team and finished No. 4.

In its seventh year, the BOXTOROW HBCU FCS Coaches Poll is administered by

FROM THE PRESS BOX TO PRESS ROW and is voted on by the HBCU Football

Championship Subdivision coaches.

2015 BOXTOROW HBCU Football Coaches Top 10 Poll


(Records through December 19, 2015)

Team W-L Points Previous Week

1. North Carolina A&T (21) 10-2 218 5

2.Alcorn State 9-4 192 6

3.Bethune-Cookman (1) 9-2 167 2

4.Grambling State 9-3 145 1

5.North Carolina Central 8-3 140 4

6.Prairie View A&M 8-2 118 3

7.South Carolina State 7-4 82 7

8.Southern 6-4 58 8

9.Hampton 6-5 44 9

10.Alabama State 6-5 26 10

Other receiving votes: Tennessee State (4-6) 4, Morgan State (4-6) 2.

(1st place votes in parentheses)

BOXTOROW National Football Champions (Coaches)


2015 North Carolina A&T

2014 Alcorn State

2013 Bethune-Cookman

2012 Arkansas-Pine Bluff

2011 Norfolk State

2010 Bethune-Cookman

2009 South Carolina State