CSJ Sagarin 2018 NCAA FCS Playoff Projection – Oct. 14

Using the Sagarin ratings alone to project the FCS playoffs, along with the automatic bid for the conferences that receive a bid, the following would be the playoff teams. These teams are seeded 1 through 24 for the 24 teams that make the FCS playoffs.

As a reminder, the following conferences receive an automatic bid, while 14 teams are selected as at-large picks.

Big Sky Conference
Big South Conference
Colonial Athletic Conference (CAA)
Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC)
Northeast Conference (NEC)
Ohio Valley Conference (OVC)
Patriot League
Pioneer Football League 
Southern Conference
Southland Conference

Top 25 Rankings with playoff spot with the conference name indicating the automatic spot for its conference and then the 14 at-large spots also listed. See the full Top 25 with the hyperlink:

1North Dakota StateMVFC
2James MadisonAt-Large 1
3South Dakota StateAt-Large 2
4Illinois StateAt-Large 3
5Northern IowaAt-Large 4
6Eastern WashingtonAt-Large 5
7Kennesaw StateBig South
8Jacksonville StateOVC
9ElonAt-Large 6
10Weber StateAt-Large 7
11DelawareAt-Large 8
13UC DavisBig Sky
14South DakotaAt-Large 9
15Missouri StateAt-Large 10
16SamfordAt-Large 11
19Idaho StateAt-Large 12
20Stony BrookAt-Large 13
21North DakotaAt-Large 14
22Sam Houston StateSouthland
23Central Connecticut StNEC
24San DiegoPioneer
Note that Central Connecticut State and San Diego are currently leading NEC and Pioneer League and would be the last two schools into the field as those conference champions.
Also note that the Ivy League, MEAC, and SWAC do not have autobids. The MEAC and SWAC champions play in the Celebration Bowl. The SWAC also plays a championship game so both division champions would not be able to participate but any second place or lower team in either conference would be eligible.
For this week, no MEAC or SWAC schools are in the Top 22 of the standings. But Princeton and Dartmouth from the Ivy League, who are in the this Top 22 are not eligible for the playoffs due to the Ivy League rule of no postseason play so these two were left off.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *