College Sports Journal Names 2017 Preseason FBS Group of Five All-America Team

The best projected 84 student-athletes in the NCAA Division I FBS Group of Five (G5) have been named to the inaugural College Sports Journal 2017 Preseason G5 All-America Team.

Unlike many other All-American teams, the CSJ honor’s squad is designed to be like a real team, capable of taking the field and competing in a game. It includes everything from quarterbacks, who can run or pass and often-overlooked fullbacks, to long snappers and other special team performers. The CSJ Group also emphasizes players who have exhibited character and other team-oriented traits, not just lofty statistics, or talent.

USF QB Quinton Flowers

Quinton Flowers was named CSJ’s Offensive Preseason Player of the Year. The senior quarterback was in his second season as the starting quarterback last year and threw for 2,800 yards, 24 touchdowns and seven interceptions. He also rushed for 1,609 yards (averaging 8.7 per carry) and 18 touchdowns, meaning he accounted for 55% of his team’s trips to the end zone.

Houston DT Ed Oliver

Ed Oliver was named CSJ’s Defensive Preseason Player of the Year. The sophomore tackle finished his freshman season with 66 tackles, 23 tackles for loss, five sacks, nine pass breakups and three forced fumbles. He showcased his talents against Heisman Trophy winner Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson. Oliver had two of Houston’s 11 sacks, but also helped contribute to several of the other plays including deflecting three passes.

Tony Pollard was named CSJ’s Special Teams Preseason Player of the Year. The sophomore had a tremendous freshman year as he ranked among FBS leaders in kick return total yards (2nd; 1,068), kick return average (8th; 28.1 ypr), kick return TD (2nd; 2) and total kick returns (6th; 38), He led the AAC in total kick returns, kick return yardage, kick return average and kick return touchdown. He set a school season record for most kick returns for touchdown (2), which is also the program all-time record.

Memphis RS Tony Pollard

After the College Football Championship game on January 8th at Mercedes-Benz Stadium in Atlanta, Georgia, the year-end team will be announced including the three major awards for top coach, offensive and defensive players. Other major awards will also be announced for Offensive Lineman of the Year, Special Teams Player of the Year, Freshmen of the Year, and Postseason Most Valuable Player.

This year’s preseason team has members from each of the five Group of Five Conferences of the American Athletic Conference (AAC), Conference USA (C-USA), Mid-America Conference (MAC), Mountain West Conference (MWC), and Sun Belt Conference (SBC) as well as the three independent schools of Army, BYU, and Massachusetts.

USF was the leader with seven members on the team with Appalachian State second with five members. Houston, Memphis, Tulsa, and Wyoming each had four.

Below is the full team of 84 players:

Offensive Player of Year Quinton Flowers, USF, QB, Sr.

Defensive Player of Year Ed Oliver, Houston, DT, So.

Special Teams Player of Year Tony Pollard, Memphis, RS, So.

First Team Offense
Pos. Player School Year
QB Quinton Flowers USF Sr.
RB Jalin Moore Appalachian State Jr.
RB Ito Smith Southern Miss Sr.
FB Andy Davidson Army Jr.
WR Courtland Sutton SMU Jr.
WR Anthony Miller Memphis Sr.
WR Richie James Middle Tennessee State Jr.
TE Adam Breneman Massachusetts Sr.
OT Chukwuma Okorafor Western Michigan Sr.
OT Austin Corbett Nevada Sr.
OG Will Hernandez UTEP Sr.
OG O’Shea Dugas Louisiana Tech Jr.
OC Chandler Miller Tulsa Jr.
First Team Defense
DE Jaylon Ferguson Louisiana Tech Jr.
DE Ja’Von Rolland-Jones Arkansas State Sr.
DT Ed Oliver Houston So.
DT Deadrin Senat USF Sr.
LB Jahlani Tavai Hawaii Jr.
LB Auggie Sanchez USF Sr.
LB Ulsees Gilbert III Akron Jr.
S Andrew Wingard Wyoming Jr.
S Sean Chandler Temple Sr.
CB Deatrick Nichols USF Sr.
CB Andre Chachere San Jose State Sr.
First Team Special Teams
PK John Baron II San Diego State Jr.
P Spencer Smith Memphis Sr.
RS Tony Pollard Memphis So.
LS Matt Bayliss UTSA Sr.
Second Team Offense
Pos. Player School Year
QB Josh Allen Wyoming Jr.
RB Ray Lawry Old Dominion Sr.
RB Ryquell Armstead Temple Jr.
FB Nick Sharga Temple Sr.
WR Cody Thompson Toledo Sr.
WR Cedrick Wilson Boise State Sr.
WR Michael Gallup Colorado State Sr.
TE Mitchell Wilcox USF So.
OT Max Scharping Northern Illinois Jr.
OT Josh Jones Houston So.
OG Colby Gossett Appalachian State Sr.
OG Tyler Bowling Tulsa Jr.
OC Will Noble Houston Jr.
Second Team Defense
DE Marcus Davenport UTSA Sr.
DE Joe Ostman Central Michigan Sr.
DT Cortez Broughton Cincinnati Jr.
DT Folorunso Fatukasi Connecticut Sr.
LB Genard Avery Memphis Sr.
LB Eric Boggs Appalachian State Sr.
LB Shaquem Griffin UCF Sr.
S Jamar Summers Connecticut Sr.
S Secdrick Cooper Louisiana Tech Sr.
CB Amari Coleman Central Michigan Sr.
CB Parry Nickerson Tulane Sr.
Second Team Special Teams
PK Jason Sanders New Mexico Sr.
P Michael Carrizosa San Jose State Sr.
RS Kylan Towner Western Kentucky Sr.
LS Colton Oliver East Carolina Sr.
Third Team Offense
Pos. Player School Year
QB Mike White Western Kentucky Sr.
RB Jordan Chunn Troy Sr.
RB Rashaad Penny San Diego State Sr.
FB Drew Van Maanen Wyoming Sr.
WR Linell Bonner Houston Sr.
WR Tre’Quan Smith UCF Jr.
WR Devonte Boyd UNLV Sr.
TE Blake Mack Arkansas State Sr.
OT Beau Nunn Appalachian State Sr.
OT Evan Plagg Tulsa Sr.
OG Nate Davis Charlotte Jr.
OG Frank Sutton, Jr. ULM Sr.
OC Jake Bennett Colorado State Sr.
Third Team Defense
DE Justin Lawler SMU Sr.
DE Ryan Dee Marshall Jr.
DT Bruce Hector USF Sr.
DT Bryson Bridges San Jose State Jr.
LB Logan Wilson Wyoming So.
LB Josiah Tauaefa UTSA So.
LB Malik Fountain Central Michigan Sr.
S Tracy Walker Louisiana Sr.
S Justin Clifton Arkansas State Jr.
CB Heath Harding Miami (OH) Sr.
CB Clifton Duck Appalachian State So.
Third Team Special Teams
PK Redford Jones Tulsa Sr.
P Joe Davidson Bowling Green Sr.
RS D’Ernest Johnson USF Sr.
LS Nick Berus Massachusetts Sr.