College Sports Journal Sagarin FCS Playoff Predictions–FINAL 2019


Using the Sagarin ratings from this week alone to project the FCS playoffs, along with the automatic bid for the conferences that receive a bid, the following would be the playoff teams. These teams are seeded 1 through 24 for the 24 teams that make the FCS playoffs. The seven Division I win criteria was used in the selection.

The following are the 10 automatic bid conferences winners:

Top 24 Rankings with playoff spot with the conference name indicating the automatic spot for its conference and then the 14 at-large spots also listed. The autobids are highlighted in bold.

1 North Dakota State MVFC
2 James Madison CAA
3 South Dakota State At-Large 1
4 Montana At-Large 2
5 Weber State Big Sky
6 Sacramento State At-Large 3
7 Montana State At-Large 4
8 Northern Iowa At-Large 5
9 Wofford SoCon
10 Villanova At-Large 6
11 Towson At-Large 7
12 Southern Illinois At-Large 8
13 SE Louisiana At-Large 9
14 Furman At-Large 10
15 Illinois State At-Large 11
16 Monmouth Big South
17 Nicholls Southland
18 Austin Peay OVC
19 Albany At-Large 12
20 North Dakota At-Large 13
21 Kennesaw State At-Large 14
22 C. Connecticut St. NEC
23 San Diego Pioneer
24 Holy Cross Patriot
The following is the list of all 126 FCS teams per the Sagarin rankings:
Note that the Ivy League, MEAC, and SWAC do not have autobids. The MEAC and SWAC champions play in the Celebration Bowl. The SWAC also plays a championship game so both division champions would not be able to participate but any second place or lower team in either conference would be eligible. And the Ivy League as a whole has elected not to participate in the playoffs.
Eastern Washington had seven wins but one was against a sub-DI opponent so they were left out of the field.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *