CSJ Conference Preview: Big South

College Sports Journal announces their 2018 Fearless Prediction for the Order of finish of the Big South Conference.

The Kennesaw State Owls are still a relatively young program, but their impressive run in 2017 – and the fact that they graduate little of their quad – means Brian Bohannon’s squad is picked to be the Big South Champions in 2018.

Kennesaw State’s success came in part thanks to the emergence of QB Chandler Burks, who exploded in 2017. The Douglasville, Georgia native ran for 18 TDs while passing for 9 more, amassing 1,103 yards on the ground and 1,307 more through the air. Even more important was his ball protection, limiting himself to 4 interceptions on the season.

For information and details on each school’s prospects for 2018, click on the links below.

  1. Kennesaw State
  2. Monmouth
  3. Charleston Southern
  4. Gardner-Webb
  5. Campbell
  6. Presbyterian

2018 All-Big South Football Preseason Team

QB – Chandler Burks, R-Sr., Kennesaw State
RB – Pete Guerriero, R-Soph., Monmouth
RB – Darnell Holland, Sr., Kennesaw State
WR – Reggie White Jr., R-Sr., Monmouth
WR – Justin Sumpter, R-Sr., Kennesaw State
WR – Kameron Brown, R-Jr., Charleston Southern
TE – Jake Powell, R-Jr., Monmouth
OL – C.J. Collins, R-Sr., Kennesaw State
OL – Ryan Wetzel, R-Sr., Monmouth
OL – Joseph Alexander Jr., R-Sr., Kennesaw State
OL – Ryan Warrior, Sr., Kennesaw State
OL – Russ Clayton, R-Sr., Monmouth

DL – Solomon Brown, R-Sr., Charleston Southern
DL – Desmond Johnson, R-Jr., Kennesaw State
DL – Johnny Robinson, Sr., Charleston Southern
DL – McKenzie Billingslea, Sr., Kennesaw State
LB – Bryson Armstrong, R-Soph., Kennesaw State
LB – Anthony Gore Jr., R-Sr., Kennesaw State
LB – J.D. Sosebee, R-Jr., Charleston Southern
LB – Jack Ryan, R-Sr., Campbell
DB – Jace White, Sr., Kennesaw State
DB – Tymere Berry, Jr., Monmouth
DB – Shadarius Hopkins, Sr., Charleston Southern
DB – Dorian Walker, Jr., Kennesaw State

PK – Justin Thompson, Sr., Kennesaw State
P – Kyle Reighard, R-Jr., Charleston Southern
KR – Pete Guerriero, R-Soph., Monmouth
PR – Taz Lindsey, Sr., Charleston Southern
LS – Drew McCracken, Sr., Kennesaw State

QB – Kenji Bahar, Jr., Monmouth
RB – Shaquil Terry, Soph., Kennesaw State
WR – Aaron Blockmon, R-Sr., Campbell
TE – Riley Hilton, R-Sr., Presbyterian College
OL – Will Millikan, Sr., Gardner-Webb
DL – Josh Ramseur, R-Sr., Gardner-Webb
LB – Diego Zubieta, Sr., Monmouth
DB – Brandon Rowland, R-Sr., Charleston Southern
PK – Tyler Tekac, Sr., Charleston Southern
P – Nicholas Jones, Soph., Kennesaw State
KR – Shaquil Terry, Soph., Kennesaw State
PR – Jaquan Brooks, R-Jr., Campbell
LS – Ethan Ray, R-Soph., Charleston Southern

Chandler Burks, R-Sr., QB, Kennesaw State (Douglasville, Ga.)

Bryson Armstrong, R-Soph., LB, Kennesaw State (Marietta, Ga)