CSJ Sagarin 2018 NCAA FCS Playoff Projection – Nov. 18-Final

Using the Sagarin ratings alone to project the FCS playoffs, along with the automatic bid for the conferences that receive a bid, the following would be the playoff teams this week. These teams are seeded 1 through 24 for the 24 teams that make the FCS playoffs.

As a reminder, the following conferences receive an automatic bid with the automatic qualifier, while 14 teams are selected as at-large picks.

Big Sky Conference  -- Weber State
Big South Conference -- Kennesaw State
Colonial Athletic Conference (CAA) -- Maine
Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) -- North Dakota State
Northeast Conference (NEC) -- Duquesne 
Ohio Valley Conference (OVC) -- Jacksonville State
Patriot League -- Colgate
Pioneer Football League -- San Diego
Southern Conference -- Wofford
Southland Conference -- Nicholls 

Below are the full 125 team Sagarin rankings. (click on the image to see a larger view.)

Also, note that six Division I wins is what the playoff committee uses as a minimum for the number of victories so any teams that did not meet this mark were left off the projection.

Also, the Ivy League and the champions of the MEAC and SWAC conferences do not participate in the playoffs.

So using the rankings along with the automatic bid and six DI win minimum, the following would the 24 schools ranked first to 24th.

1 North Dakota State (11-0) MVFC
2 South Dakota State (8-2) At-Large1
3 Eastern Washington (9-2) At-Large2
4 James Madison (8-3) At-Large3
5 Northern Iowa (6-5) At-Large4
6 Kennesaw State (10-1) Big South
7 UC Davis (9-2) At-Large5
8 Colgate (9-1) Patriot
9 Weber State (9-2) Big Sky
10 Jacksonville State (8-3) OVC
11 Stony Brook (7-4) At-Large6
12 Towson (7-4) At-Large7
13 Nicholls State (8-3) Southland
14 Wofford (8-3) SoCon
15 Delaware (7-4) At-Large8
16 Elon (6-4) At-Large9
17 Indiana State (7-4) At-Large10
18 Montana (6-5) At-Large11
19 Montana State (7-4) At-Large12
20 Maine (8-3) CAA
21 Furman (6-4) At-Large13
22 North Dakota (6-5) At-Large14
23 San Diego (9-2) Pioneer
24 Duquesne (8-3) NEC

Next Four Out

25 SE Missouri State (8-3)
26 Rhode Island (6-5)
27 Central Arkansas (6-5)
28 Chattanooga (6-5)

The playoff committee will announce the full field at 12:30pm EST today on ESPNU.

Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *