CSJ Conference Preview: Pioneer Football League

College Sports Journal announces their 2018 Fearless Prediction for the Order of finish of the Pioneer Football League.

The San Diego Toreros are picked by CSJ to repeat as PFL Champions. Last year San Diego won its second consecutive PFL crown in finishing 10-3 overall (8-0 in conference play) and also won its second playoff contest (against Northern Arizona) before falling in the second round.

San Diego QB Anthony Lawrence also heads the 2018 Preseason All-Pioneer Football League Team as selected by the league’s head coaches. In his career, he has started all of his three years (36 games) in southern California and has thrown for 8,521 yards. Last year alone, he had an astounding touchdown to interception ratio in throwing 33 scores while only throwing three picks.

For information and details on each school’s prospects for 2018, click on the links below.

  1. San Diego
  2. Dayton
  3. Drake
  4. Valparaiso
  5. Jacksonville
  6. Morehead State
  7. Butler
  8. Stetson
  9. Marist
  10. Davidson

2018 Preseason All-Pioneer Football League Team

(as selected by PFL head coaches)

Pos. Player School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
WR Pace Temple Butler 6-2 200 Sr. Geneva, Ill.
WR Steven Doran Drake 6-3 212 Sr. Germantown, Wis.
WR Juston Christian Marist 6-0 186 Sr. Owings Mills, Md.
WR Jarin Higginbotham Morehead State 6-0 195 RSr. Liberty Township, Ohio.
QB Anthony Lawrence San Diego 6-1 195 RSr. La Mesa, Calif.
TE Adam Trautman Dayton 6-1 225 RSr. Williamsburg, Mich.
RB Wesley Dugger Davidson 6-0 192 So. Cincinnati, Ohio
RB Tucker Yinger Dayton 6-0 191 RSr. Columbus, Ohio
FB Zach Nelson San Diego 6-2 240 RJr. Danville, Calif.
OL Bobby Jensen Butler 6-4 290 RSr. Plainfield, Ind.
OL Dakota Sneed Butler 6-3 285 RSr. Edinburgh, Ind.
OL Ben Gauthier Dayton 6-2 275 Sr. Avon, Ohio
OL Jordan Lewinsky Drake 6-5 290 RSr. Mequon, Wis.
OL Daniel Cooney San Diego 6-8 315 RSr. Western Springs, Ill.
OL Tom Schofield Valparaiso 6-3 285 Sr. Chicago, Ill.
DL Nick Surges Dayton 6-3 237 RSr. Naperville, Ill.
DL Nathan Clayberg Drake 6-4 282 RSr. Pella, Iowa
DL Eddie Zinn-Turner Marist 6-1 298 RJr. Malvern, Ohio
DL Connor Spencer San Diego 6-3 285 RSr. Boulder, Colo.
LB Caysaun Wakeley Jacksonville 5-11 200 Jr. Alachua, Fla.
LB Trevor Tufano Jacksonville 5-11 210 Jr. New Smyrna Beach, Fla.
LB Willie Barrett Marist 5-11 227 RSr. Holiday, Fla.
LB Nick Turner Valparaiso 6-1 225 Sr. Gurnee, Ill.
DB David Leisring Dayton 6-1 190 Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
DB Sean Lynch Drake 5-9 181 RSr. Hawthorn Woods, Ill.
DB Wes Beans Marist 5-10 192 RSr. New Oxford, Pa.
DB JJ Henderson Stetson 5-10 161 RSo. Tampa, Fla.
PK Drew Bevelhimer Butler 6-1 185 Jr. Indianapolis, Ind.
P Sean Smith Dayton 6-4 222 Sr. Avondale, Pa.
RS Bailey Gessinger Valparaiso 5-10 165 Jr. Napanee, Ind.
LS Matt Tunnacliffe Dayton 6-3 200 Sr. West Chester, Ohio