CSJ Conference Preview: SWAC

Grambling State Tigers linebacker De’Arius Christmas (5) makes a confetti angel after the Grambling State Tigers defeated North Carolina Central Eagles during the 2016 Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl on December 17, 2016 in Atlanta, GA. Phil Ellsworth/ESPN Images

College Sports Journal announces their 2018 Fearless Prediction for the Order of finish of the SWAC, picking Alcorn State to win the Eastern division and picking Grambling to win the Western division.

The Braves are four-time defending SWAC East Division champions, and were picked to win it again by College Sports Journal. Alcorn State features senior RB P.J. Simmons was tabbed the Preseason Offensive Player of the Year on the SWAC All-Conference team.

The Tigers are defending SWAC Champions are also picked to repeat as divisional champions. Grambling State features LB De’Arius Christmas, who notched 88 tackles, 48 solo stops and 17 1/2 tackles for loss last season.

For information and details on each school’s prospects for 2018, click on the links below.

SWAC Eastern Conference

  1. Alcorn State
  2. Alabama State
  3. Alabama A&M
  4. Jackson State
  5. Mississippi Valley State

SWAC Western Conference

  1. Grambling State
  2. Southern University
  3. Prairie View A&M
  4. Texas Southern
  5. Arkansas-Pine Bluff

2018 All-SWAC Football Preseason Team

QB Noah Johnson Alcorn State
RB P.J. Simmons Alcorn State
RB KeShawn Williams Arkansas-Pine Bluff
OL Mustaffa Ibrahim Alcorn State
OL Jeremiah Abby Southern
OL William Waddell Grambling State
OL Kyle Davis Grambling State
OL Corbin Finlayson Prairie View A&M
WR Quinn McElfresh Mississippi Valley State
WR Darrell Clark Grambling State
TE Jordan Jones Grambling State


DL Linwood Banks Grambling State
DL La’Allan Clark Grambling State
DL Brandon Varner Grambling State
DL Vernon Moland Alabama A&M
LB Patrick Harbin Mississippi Valley State
LB Trae Ferrell Alcorn State
LB De’Arius Christmas Grambling State
DB Dylan Hamilton Alabama A&M
DB Andre Augustine Southern
DB Ju’Anthony Parker Prairie View A&M
DB Percy Cargo Grambling State


K Marc Orozco Grambling State
P Jamie Gillan Arkansas-Pine Bluff
RS KeShawn Williams Arkansas-Pine Bluff


QB Darryl Pearson Jr. Alabama State
RB Jordan Bentley Alabama A&M
RB Dawonya Tucker Prairie View A&M
OL Deonte Brooks Alcorn State
OL Kevin Hall Alcorn State
OL Roderick Smith Prairie View A&M
OL Jimmy Williams Texas Southern
OL Tytus Howard Alabama State
WR Quintin Guice Grambling State
WR Markcus Hardy Prairie View A&M
TE Zarrian Holcombe Prairie View A&M


DL Anfernee Mullins Grambling State
DL Sterling Shippy Alcorn State
DL Kevin Agee Arkansas-Pine Bluff
DL Christian Clark Alabama State
LB De’Andre Hogues Grambling State
LB Malcolm Williams Grambling State
LB Solomon Muhammad (tie)
Darron Johnson
Alcorn State
Alabama State
DB Reggie Stubblefield Prairie View A&M
DB Jeffrey Hill Alabama State
DB Brady Smith Alcorn State
DB Dedrick Shy Grambling State


K Corey McCullough Alcorn State
P Corey McCullough Alcorn State
RS George Golden Alabama State